New to ham radio, looking for some advice.

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by KN4SMQ, Mar 6, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. KN4SMQ

KN4SMQ Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello everyone, I am new to the world of ham radio (only had my ticket a few weeks now) and need some advice on a mobile rig.
    I am looking to get something I can put in my truck and possibly carry it into the garage on weekends and evening that won't be to crazy expensive, the websites that sell radios and equipment are a little overwhelming when you don't really know where to start. I will be on 2m 70cm for a while until I get the hang of things and learn my way around and feel knowledgeable enough to try for my general license. I am currently using a hand held and want to upgrade and also don't want to have to stand in the cold all the time. As for antennas I have a j-pole and ground plane nothing special just regular antennas that new hams build. If anyone has any advice for me I would really appreciate your time.

NM9L, KE8JNU, WZ7U and 2 others like this.
  2. KM6XP

KM6XP Ham Member QRZ Page

Welcome! As I am pretty new to ham radio, 5 months now, and I know nobody else in the hobby here is my take. A good small mobile dual band + digital Fusion radio is the Yaesu FT7250, I have one of these and love it. Mine is set up as a base, the are on sale right now for like $200, I paid $259 back in Oct. there are other options but I went for the Yaesu. Feed it with some LMR400 and you are money.

Good luck

3. N8FVJ

N8FVJ Ham Member QRZ Page

I used a handheld for a long time on 2 meters when I started in ham radio. The Kenwood TM-V71A is a great mobile dual bander. I own one. ICOM IC-2730A looks like a bargain at $100 less than the Kenwood.

Last edited: Mar 6, 2019
    KN4SMQ and K4RKY like this.
  4. KN4SMQ

Thanks, this sound exactly like what im looking for.

5. KM6XP

KM6XP Ham Member QRZ Page