ad: w5yi

New to HAM Looking for good 2 Meter & 70 cm Antenna

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by KE0PLZ, Nov 9, 2018 at 4:27 PM.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: l-assoc
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
  1. KE0PLZ

KE0PLZ Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello, I am new to HAM and I am looking for a good antenna. I live in an apartment building on the third floor, which is the top floor. Unfortunately I do not have access to hang anything outside and have no balcony access. I am looking for an antenna that I can put in my window on the inside of my apartment. I will be using the antenna for the 2 meter and 70 cm band for mostly listening and maybe some talking from time to time on my local repeaters. I am new to HAM so I think that building an antenna myself would be a good learning experience for me, but I am also open to purchasing one too. If I missed any needed information to help answer my question please ask. Thank you in advanced for your responses!

2. N3JJB

N3JJB Ham Member QRZ Page

3. KE0PLZ

KE0PLZ Ham Member QRZ Page

I was looking into them, but all the designs I saw for them looked to large for my window, so I didn't know if that would work of if there was a better option.

4. KV4JW

KV4JW Ham Member QRZ Page

I second the DIY J-pole, more specifically a "slim-jim" type J-pole. You can build one for literally free if you have the items. If you don't, there may be some local hams in your area who wouldn't mind to donate a few feet of 450 ohm ladder line and coax to you, and HELP you build it.

Learning, making new friends, and making something useful is most all of the fun.

I've built a couple of them myself and if you can read a measuring tape, can solder (even fairly), you can build one! It also doesn't "have" to hang in a window. You can stick a pushpin into the wall and hang it from it, or use a string and tie it to a curtain rod.

5. K5UNX

K5UNX Ham Member QRZ Page