ad: elecraft

New to CW and trying to understand RBN

Discussion in 'Straight Keys - CW Enthusiasts' started by KD5NDQ, Sep 25, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KD5NDQ

KD5NDQ Ham Member QRZ Page

I am new to CW and learning how to user reverse beacon network spotting for how my antennas are doing. So I read this slideset from the Dayton Hamfest a while back and specifically the part on "How do I use the RBN to Check My Antennas?".
    https://www.kkn.net/~n6tv/N6TV_Dayton_2012_Using_the_RBN.pdf

As I understand it, when I call "CQ (or TEST) KD5NDQ KD5NDQ" I can then check the RBN to see how my signal is propagating, and so far it seems to be working fine (see attached image).

[​IMG]

However, some of my buddies from the cwAcademy class that we were all in are trying the same thing and getting NO results (or maybe 1 spotting) when we try it all around the same time. I am in Mississippi, they are in Iowa and Texas and they are trying both 20m and 40m bands. If they aren't getting spotted, what does that imply - their antennas aren't working too well? I am using single band dipoles cut to 20 and 40 while they are using a fan dipole and a Windom respectively. The other difference is they are using straight keys and I am using a paddle. They also have newer rigs (FT 450D and FTdx-1200) vs my Kenwood TS-530S. I am just trying to help them determine why they aren't seeing anything in the RBN results. We do have regular QSO's and I can make them out ok, not great, so I am a little confused by they lack of results myself.

73's and cheers,
    Robert Opalko
    KD5NDQ

2. W5WTH

W5WTH Ham Member QRZ Page

It could be the Skey vs paddle. I use a Skey most of the time, but seem to get spotted more if I use a paddle. Of course, if my Skey timing was prefect this wouldn't be an issue. ;)