ad: elecraft

New TL-922 Owner

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio Amplifiers' started by G3YRO, Dec 14, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
  1. G3YRO

G3YRO Ham Member QRZ Page

I've just acquired a Kenwood TL-922 Linear . . . (something I've been hoping to get for the last 20 years!)

Gave it a good clean inside before switching it on. It all looks 100% un-modified.

After reading various articles online, the only modification I decided was worthwhile was to directly ground the grids. So did that . . . and tried it it out. It's producing 1200 - 1300 watts carrier output into a dummy load, so presumably that means the 3-500Zs are in good shape?

Do the valve filaments and PSU take much of a hammering on switch on? Ie is it really worth adding some kind of soft-start circuit? If so, I would probably do something really simple like a 10 ohm resistor in series with the mains feed (240V), shorted out after a second.

The HT drops from 3.5kV to 3kV on full power - is that about right? (ie are the electrolytics working OK?)

Also - should there be some lights illuminating the meters?

Roger G3YRO

2. W1QJ

W1QJ Ham Member QRZ Page

On normal 240v ac line voltage the HV is about 3000 volts in ssb and drops to 1900 or so on cw. Your numbers are way high. You might have the mains strapped for 200v which would raise the filament voltage too high. A step start never hurts but w hen you switch between cw and ssb there is still a surge. You really do need a soft key as the relay voltage is 120 vdc and not too many radios like that. Grounding the grids gives more power and reduces drive. You may check out W8JI for his recommendations. But don't go too far with hair brain voodoo.

3. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page