New Satellite Operator

Discussion in 'Satellite and Space Communications' started by KS0CBM, Feb 26, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: l-gcopper
ad: abrind-2
ad: l-BCInc
ad: Left-2
ad: QSOToday-1
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KS0CBM

KS0CBM Ham Member QRZ Page

Good evening. So I am new to trying the Sat birds and have several HT's that I figured would work great for this. I have a 2m/70cm Arrow antenna that I bought and have 2- Baofeng UV-5R's that I could use for transmit and receive. I had a good pass of AO-27 at 17:59 local time here in KC. I only tuned to the downlink and started at what I have read to start listening on 436.805 at the AOS. Throughout the complete pass and adjusting through 436.795 I did not get any response from the Sat. Squelch was all the way open. Any ideas as to what I could be doing wrong. I want to listen for awhile before I start transmitting in. Appreciate any assistance.

Thank you!

Clint KS0CBM

2. W5WTH

W5WTH Ham Member QRZ Page

Clint:

You have have not had been doing anything wrong. Some Baofengs just don't receive the sats and some do.

Personally, my BF works great for sats everyplace BUT around my house for some reason. Not sure why; my house is RF quite, etc. it just doesn't.

So.... if you think you are doing everything correctly relocated a few miles and try again. This worked for me, but what worked even better for me was getting a Kenwood D72A.

Good Luck!

3. KS0CBM