New guy here ...... "getting my first radio" question

Discussion in 'Mobile Radio Systems' started by PRIFFE, Jun 9, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: l-assoc
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. PRIFFE

PRIFFE QRZ Member

I'm currently studying for my first test.
    As I was perusing the local club sites i noticed that some (seemed like a lot) of the local repeaters are Tier II and Tier III and were discuraging the use of some HTs (Baofeng DM-R5 in particular) since using them would cause some hate and discontent since it would " tie up both time slots."

So, the question is ...... what is a good entry HT for a beginner or what should i look for.

I would prefer not to, but having the option to use a repeater would be a plus. (The challenge of "how far CAN get on my own? Is appealing)

I have a little experience from my military days as a radio operator and also worked on a VSC3 RATT rig (some of you now know i am no spring chicken ☺ )

Practical use would be to call 20ish miles in case of emergency. Work to home. (Wife may be getting license too)

I know this is a very broad question.

Looking for good value and usability and I prefer to be called frugal instead of cheap ☺

Thanks in advance

2. WB2LBV

WB2LBV Ham Member QRZ Page

The Tier I and Tier II are for the DMR digital mode only. If you plan to use any local DMR repeaters then you do need to make sure that the equipment you use is Tier II compliant. Most currently available DMR mobile and handheld radios are but there have been some that weren't, notably the Baofeng you mention. Using one of those on a Tier II repeater will definitely not make you any friends.
    Aside from that, you need to determine what bands and modes you plan to operate and research your equipment purchases accordingly. Since it appears you are looking at VHF/UHF handhelds you will probably want to operate through repeaters as the simplex range of handhelds on those bands is limited.