ad: ARR

Need help with Drake TR-4CW

Discussion in '"Boat Anchor" & Classic Equipment' started by N8PWM, Mar 10, 2019.

Tags:
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
  1. N8PWM

N8PWM XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Hi all! I am now the proud owner of a TR-4cw with the remote vfo and 500 Hz filter.

The rig is in need of some help. I cannot get the carrier oscillator to adjust (C129) so that usb and lsb sound the same. LSB is very high pitched and tinny sounding and usb is very low and muffled. No matter the adjustment of the cap they are not close. I have tested all the tubes and all are in excellent condition.

I am brand new to Drake gear and have wanted some since I was licensed in 1976. This is a good project since it does work but needs a bit of TLC.

I am looking for suggestions on what to check and where to start. I hesitate to do a complete recap if I don’t have to. I prefer to start with the simple stuff.

Thank you,

Craig N8PWM

2. K7TRF

K7TRF Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

A recap is unlikely to help with your carrier oscillator problem.

It sounds like the carrier oscillator crystal or associated capacitors has drifted so far off frequency that the trimmer cap won't pull it back to where it belongs. Do you have access to an accurate frequency counter? If so I'd check the oscillation frequency and you'll likely find it's not close to the desired frequency.