NEED GUIDANCE - POSSIBLE RF

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by K1KTF, Mar 4, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
  1. K1KTF

K1KTF Ham Member QRZ Page

A9980FCF-5625-4F2F-BB67-1F6F85E39AD7.jpeg F24A1DF5-B28A-4A97-9C9C-F5F63AD04FFF.jpeg
    Hi Friends:

First I must confess I’m not technically smart, hence my post to you all.

Recently I have been unable to tune my G5RV w/ my MFJ Tuner. No equipment changes and my G5RV has been up and working fine for (at least) 6 years w/out any trouble.

Recently when I tune I can’t get the “reflected” and “forward” to set to “zero”. I checked the ground connections but have not examined the ladder line nor got up to check the antenna connections. I’m also using a Balun as well.

Any guidance you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks + 73! Steve - K1KTF

2. K7TRF

K7TRF Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Does this happen on only one band or has the tuning behavior of the antenna changed on all HF bands that you normally use?

In the case of a G5RV or similar (e.g. G5RV junior, ZS6BKW, etc.) I'd start troubleshooting by determining the 'natural' SWR of the antenna with the tuner in bypass mode. Do this at low transmit power as it's pretty normal to see natural SWR in the 5:1 to 10:1 range for these antennas but you should see distinct SWR dips on at least a few of the HF ham bands.