NBFM--what rigs work, and what bands?

Discussion in 'VHF/UHF - 50Mhz and Beyond' started by K3RW, Sep 8, 2019.

Tags:
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
  1. K3RW

K3RW Ham Member QRZ Page

Read a couple of guys on the PNW boards discussing NBFM equipment for 900 MHz. I've got several repeaters nearby, and if I could program my KW rig I'd be on them. But as I understand it, that's not a NBFM rig (TK-941).

Apparently the Alinco G29 handheld (that now sells for more used than it did new!!) was capable of 900 FM and NBFM. I'll admit I'm new to the concept of NBFM and not familiar where it is used and what the implications are. Not sure if NBFM folks can receive a wideband signal, for example, or if they can be received on a wideband radio. That's where I get lost.

Other than this white whale of an Alinco HT, what other equipment for 900 is capable of NBFM? Is this just a 900MHz thing for amateurs, and not an issue on say 23cm and above?

I've got the bug to run a 33cm transverter to pick up some of the 902/3 crowd on SSB and maybe try to catch them on FM on the low side--though I am not sure if my FT-817, IC-7100, or IC706MKIIGs (as IF radios for the transverter) are capable of NBFM. I may just splurge and get a 30w Motorola and just run that for FM simplex on 927.

Sort of related...

I'm guessing that 927 FM simplex is dedicated to 'regular FM' and the lower 902/3ish FM is for the narrowband FM?

And finally, is any of the commercial-convertable stuff (KW, Motorola, etc.) NBFM?

2. K7JEM

K7JEM Ham Member QRZ Page