N7ESU call being used by a Scammer

Discussion in 'Stolen Radios, Scams and Rip-Offs' started by W6PCY, Sep 13, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
  1. W6PCY

    W6PCY Ham Member QRZ Page

    I was scammed by a guy using the N7ESU callsign. I sent him money for a Icom 5100 radio and after that, never heard from him again. He had me send money to ylouise54@gmail.com. After no word for a week, I searched here and found the same email address used for another scam with another email address. Luckily, I used goods and services through PayPal and should get my money back....within the next 30 days or so... Don't get scammed by this guy. Ryan W6PCY
  2. W7UUU

    W7UUU Super Moderator Lifetime Member 133 Administrator Volunteer Moderator Platinum Subscriber Life Member QRZ Page

    That's a well-known scammer email address.

    It is NOT the real N7ESU if that's the email address they used.

  3. K7JEM

    K7JEM Ham Member QRZ Page

    @N7ESU seems to be an active callsign here, maybe he needs to be made aware of the scam. Where and how did you get approached?
  4. W6PCY

    W6PCY Ham Member QRZ Page

    I posted in the wanted area for a ID5100 and he sent me a message. He had a picture of the radio and knew the right answers to my questions. Blows my mind. Here’s hoping for a legit sale in the future for a real 5100. I’ve also messaged him multiple times on here with no response.
  5. N7ESU

    N7ESU XML Subscriber QRZ Page

    Hi, this is the REAL n7esu...It turns out I WAS hacked and didn't know it till I tried to log in and was locked out of my account. Somebody activated the 2 factor authentication on my account and qrz was sending me a unlock code to some phone number that wasn't mine. I found this out after contacting qrz to let them know I wasn't getting the un-lock code. After qrz unlocked it for me and before I could log back in the 2 factor authentication was activated again. I ended up having to send qrz a copy of my drivers license to prove who I was. Back and forth with qrz took about a week or so with my schedule. According to qrz they had a phone number of 201-654-3379 which of course is not mine. Also supposedly coming from IP address of if that info helps anybody tracking him down. I hope who ever he scammed gets their money back from paypal. I appreciate being told/warned about the scam as I haven't been to active for the last month. 73
    N0TZU likes this.
  6. KD8DEY

    KD8DEY Ham Member QRZ Page

  7. WD0BCT

    WD0BCT Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

    Sounds as though two factor identification isn't as secure as everyone thinks!

    I recently received an invite to join a neighborhood website. Sounds like a neighborhood FB. I decided the risks outweighed the advantage of such a group and did not join. I'm in the process of reevaluating all websites I frequent. Most of these websites don't allow you to close down your account...they prefer to just let you go inactive...which leaves your account open to hackers. If you are inactive you would never know someone else is using your account.
  8. W7UUU

    W7UUU Super Moderator Lifetime Member 133 Administrator Volunteer Moderator Platinum Subscriber Life Member QRZ Page

    @AA7BQ - Fred is traveling a bit but hopefully he will see this and chime in.

    Curious about the IDV being compromised, if that's in fact what happened.

  9. KA2FIR

    KA2FIR Ham Member QRZ Page

    You should put a disclaimer in your QRZ profile warning others that scammers are using your callsign to defraud. Also, adding an email address will allow buyers to confirm that something forsale under your callsign is actually from you. I tried emailing you with no response. Is your email address compromised too? A missing email address sometimes indicates the criminals have deleted the real op's email address to prevent verification of the seller.

    The number 2016543379 is a Landline Phone

    Location Engine C >>> >>> Success

    City: Atlanta
    Region: Georgia
    Country: US
    Lat: 33.7490
    Long: -84.3880
    ISP: AS12989 StackPath LLC
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2019
    N0TZU likes this.
  10. KA2FIR

    KA2FIR Ham Member QRZ Page

    IP Location [​IMG] United States Atlanta Securedconnectivity.net
    ASN [​IMG] AS12989 HWNG, NL (registered May 12, 2003)
    Resolve Host 209-197-26-75.ipvanish.com
    Whois Server whois.arin.net
    IP Address
    Reverse IP 1 website uses this address.

    ipvanish.com offers VPN services. I guess their motto is they can make your IP address "vanish" from the Internet.
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2019

Share This Page