ad: ProAudio-1

N7DCC - burned, is it possible to fix?

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by SP6F, Sep 21, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-Geochron
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. SP6F

SP6F Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello,

I've burned my tuner during last SOTA activation, because of hurry and short circuit of wires from battery. It was short, but I saw a spark.

For lucky, I can power it on and it reacts, but on a screen there are so small values of PWD (I use 818 in AM mode - it is 2W). It looks like this: https://streamable.com/kb9pki (PTT 3,4 times with AM during movie).

Is there anybody who had similar problem and solved it?

Thank you for any advice
    73 de SP6F

2. UT7UX

UT7UX Ham Member QRZ Page

You seem have Chinese built, right? I've got similar w/o internal battery (I don't need it). Luckily mine still works so I have no experience with similar fault. I only have to say I disappointed with its power handling: with 100W it overheats almost instantly and drifts (50W from my 50W TRX seems to be OK).

If the tuner powers on I'd suppose the controller is powered normally as well as LED TV. So you seem have to check the trace from directional coupler to controller's ADC - forward and reflected power is all the controller knows. If the coupler works normally and voltage goes to the controller then it could be like the controller's ADC input(s) has been killed with battery accident so you have to swap the controller with a new one and flash it with the appropriate firmware. Worse case scenario: buy new kit for parts.
    Original N7DDC circuit could help you a lot as Chinese one is almost identical to N7DDC's.

3. SP6F

SP6F Ham Member QRZ Page

Yes, Chinese one, without battery inside. Simple 7x7. My tuner works fine before incident. Of course, buy new one is the one of solution, but I'd like to fix. I think it should be possible and simple.

4. UT7UX