my new HW8 won't transmit

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by KI4NZU, Apr 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: FBNews-1
ad: OK1UUad-1
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
  1. KI4NZU

KI4NZU Guest

Hi, this is kristen.
    For those who remember me, I finally got my Heathkit hw-8 fired up. Ive got on and just tried to see if I could receive. For almost a week, everytime I get on, I get some weak signal sometimes, but other than that, only static. Is this normal for a new ham to experience?
    Bear with me as it is the fact that Im very new to this.

When I finally do get a good sig., I call CQ on that freq. and it I can hear it go over on the air, but I tried it several times, and never get anything.

I would appriciate it if anyone can help me and guide me through this.

PS. Also, Im in the process of figuring out how to measure SWR and tune my antenna. Can anyone guide me through this process?
    sorry if I seem to be asking alot, but Im just confused.
    TNX es 73!
    Kristen

2. N0WVA

N0WVA Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi Kristen!

The HW8 is a very neat radio, Ive had 2 of them. However, its only a QRP ( low power) transmitter, although the receiver is fairly good.

I think the problem may be in your antenna! What are you using for that? A full size resonant antenna( simple dipole) is a must for best performance.

However, you are doing the right thing by answering the strong ones. I dont know if you have the manual to that radio, but you have to tune to the right side of zero beat in order to be on the same frequency as the other station. I think you have to be on the "upper side" of the frequency, but its been a while, Im not positive! If not, the other station might not hear you.

You might also try calling the specific station instead of CQ.

So what are you using for that antenna?

3. KA9VQF

KA9VQF Ham Member QRZ Page