ad: vanity

My First Post - Technician license and 10 Meter Radio

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by LINKO, Aug 1, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: l-BCInc
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: l-assoc
  1. LINKO

LINKO Member

Hi, I am studying for my technicians license. I would like to have a nice 10 meter radio and "get my feet wet".

I live in an HOA neighborhood so an out door antenna is out for me right now.

I would like to buy a quality radio that will be the best I can expect on 10 meters. I am planning on a Dipole with balun in my attic.

Could some of you make some recommendations on a radio?

Thanks

2. LINKO

LINKO Member

I am thinking of buying an all band rig, transmitting on 10 and listening on the lower bands to get my feet wet and buy once cry once.
    Looking at the Icom IC7300.

KB4QAA and NH7RO like this.
  3. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

This is a much better idea than a "10 meter radio."

Also, although 10m was open pretty often in June and part of July (Sporadic-E), and FT8 on 10m is still producing quite a lot of contacts, for voice modes (SSB) it's pretty dead. You can't "listen" to FT8, you need a computer and software to decode it.

The lower bands (20m/30m/40m) are much more useful "right now," and probably for the next few years.

NH7RO and K1XS like this.
  4. K8JD

K8JD Ham Member QRZ Page

I have an older Radio Shack HTX10 . Compact size and runs on 12V so you need a 10-15 A power supply, Runs 25 W peak output on 10M, and all modes but CW, I would think there are lots of them sitting in basements or garages unused. If you can track one down I bet you could get it for 20 Bucks !

On SSB, I worked into Europe, Japan, S Africa, Kuwait, Argentina and the south pacific and many more places with mine. I worked FM repeaters with mine, all over the US also, and a lot on simplex FM, Even into Europe. (But a Tech only can use SSB)