My Crystal Radio Projects

Discussion in 'Homebrew and Kit Projects' started by VU2NAN, Aug 18, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-Geochron
  1. VU2NAN

VU2NAN Ham Member QRZ Page

K0UO, VK4HAT, N8TGQ and 1 other person like this.
  2. KK4NSF

KK4NSF Ham Member QRZ Page

Nandu, those are great! I especially like the Razor Blade detector. It's a classic WWII vintage design. I've been playing with home-made semi-conductors for several years, and have found that design to be a great basis for experimentation.

Crystal radios are excellent for teaching the basics of radio, AND are an interesting field in their own right. Any person interesting in building radios would be well served by building a few crystal sets first. Good work!

K0UO likes this.
  3. W9WQA

W9WQA Ham Member QRZ Page

for exotic cr radios find ka9pgc. he is the all time champ at building stuff...

K0UO likes this.
  4. VU2NAN

Thank you very much, David.

But nothing to beat your variocoupler beauty. It's mesmerising!

Nandu.

K0UO and VK4HAT like this.
  5. K6BSU

K6BSU Ham Member QRZ Page

Many of us have gone through the xtal set phase. I was certain I could design a superior xtal set. Well, it was fun, but not very productive in terms of being able to receive anything above the AM broadcast band. This one sort of worked, but I heard a few stations that were local and running high power. Anyway, it looks good, but that's about all.

Attached Files:

WD5GWY, K0UO, KK4NSF and 3 others like this.
  6. VU2NAN

Hi OM Floyd,

Superb and real professional!

Nandu.

7. W4HAY

W4HAY XML Subscriber QRZ Page

It's too bad The Xtal Set Society https://www.midnightscience.com/ is just a shell of it's former self, if it still even exists.
    During its heyday it was a good source of plans and parts for crystal sets.

K0UO likes this.
  8. KK4NSF