Must number in vanity call sign agree with region?

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by K1PHD, Mar 21, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
  1. K1PHD

K1PHD Ham Member QRZ Page

I am new to amateur radio. I passed the technician exam last night with a perfect score. (Dodged that q about iambic pentameter.)

Obviously, I have not gotten my call sign yet, but I am thinking about creating my own. Can one request a vanity call sign with a number outside of one's own region, or does the number have to match the region?

I don't care which number is in the call sign, but of course being able to use more numbers means more choices.

2. KB9VY

KB9VY Ham Member QRZ Page

Short answer is no. There are some prefix combinations that are limited to geographic locations.

3. K1PHD

K1PHD Ham Member QRZ Page

Thank you for your reply. But I don't understand what "the short answer is no" means.

Once again, my question:
    Can one request a vanity call sign with a number outside of one's own region, or does the number have to match the region?

I can't tell if no is your answer to the first or second part.

4. KO6WB

KO6WB Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

The numbered district does not have to match, so, no.
    The exception to this are prefixes such as KH, KL, and KP. These are regional areas like Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. There are others but for the most part you can select any call you're allowed to select including those with widely varying numbers not related to the districts themselves.
    You can select just about any call that is not already taken or in a withheld basis. Those withheld are calls that have been used within the past two years.
    One way to find this is by using the lookup capability of such sites as QRZ. This can give you a good idea if the call you're wishing to obtain is likely to be available.