Multiple Antenna

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by WX4PTO, Apr 15, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: l-assoc
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. WX4PTO

WX4PTO QRZ Member QRZ Page

Greetings guys. New to ham world, little bit of frs play as a younger. Starting to get more and more into it. Currently use MURS, GMRS and CB (save the comments, I'm a trucker).

Gonna set up a tower at home. Was looking around and saw "Slim Jim" antennas.

Currently in process of buying a icom-4100. Have a Baofeng uv5r, and cobra 29lcd (again.. save it). My local REACT team also wants to put GMRS repeater up.

Tower will be about 75' (hey, it was free, plus a few mods to add height)

Now to the question. I understand the icom will need a dual band antenna, and prepared for that. But can I mount a 2m, 11m, and 70cm antenna on same plane, if so how far apart. Ideally I'd like to have all 3 antennas on the one tower.
    AND what's your views on Slim Jim's (I found them thru QRZ)

2. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

I would not bother with a "Slim Jim," especially for a tower where it will be exposed to weather including high winds; you want something much stronger for an outdoor tower installation.

For what you describe, you really don't need three antennas, just two: a 2m/70cm dual band antenna, and an 11m antenna. They can be mounted side-by-side using a crossbar brace, but I'd put them about nine feet apart to allow them to both work pretty well. Such a crossbrace with vertical pipes for mounting the antennas is available commercially, but of course can be made by any local welding shop.

3. N5AVF

N5AVF Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

CB was one facet of radio back in the 70's that got me interested in SWL and amateur radio. No comments. That said, you might want to read over 47 CFR 95.408 (CB Rule 8). PDF Link: http://tinyurl.com/yc7nkk7a