MOTOROLA Motorola HMN1050D MIKE - Can It Be Used For Ham Use ?

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by K5FRH, Jan 9, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Left-2
  1. K5FRH

K5FRH Ham Member QRZ Page

I have always like 'the "space age" look of this mike and would like to know if it can be adapted for ham use. I cant find any technical info on it, but I seem to remember that it had a preamp circuit built into it - similar to the Turner +2. I installed many of these in the late 70's/early 80's when I was a Motorola tech.

Also, any thoughts on its companion, the HMN1001 Hand Mike. These hand mikes were durable - had to be - they were the default mike in police, fire,etc. mobile installs and took much abuse.

Attached Files:

2. AA5CT

AA5CT Ham Member QRZ Page

Repeater builder . com website has nothing on these?

If you can ohm-out the two wires coming off the mic element to the cable, the next step is to treat it like an old carbon-mic element.

3. G3ZPF

G3ZPF Subscriber QRZ Page

Last edited: Jan 9, 2019
  4. KF5FEI

KF5FEI Ham Member QRZ Page

The desk mike may have an amplified electret element. I had an EF Johnson mike (probably rebadged) that was that way.

5. K5FRH

Thanks

6. AA5CT

AA5CT Ham Member QRZ Page

Used to be Motorola "knowledge" was just over-flowing in the ham community. I guess that has changed. Unfortunately, I don't have IP addresses assigned to my "paper" Moto manuals, therefore no one can "FTP" into them ...

An example Motorola MICOR series microphone - includes schematic:

http://www.repeater-builder.com/micor/pdf/tmn6054a-microphone.pdf

Last edited: Jan 9, 2019
  7. K5FRH

Thanks. I remember that the Motorola desk and hand mikes had good audio in commercial use, so I am going to try a few in ham use. Glad to see I was wrong about the built-in preamps.

8. K9STH

K9STH Platinum Subscriber Volunteer Moderator Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page