Motorola mobile power problems

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by KH7RD, Sep 10, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
  1. KH7RD

KH7RD Ham Member QRZ Page

I am a school bus driver, trying to help my employer with motorola business radios in our school buses. It seems that all of a sudden we are killing radios. Contractor is slow to respond, so I am looking for a solution. It appears we are blowing internal fuse on circuit boards. Buses are 12 volt, and occasionally they have dead batteries. It seems when we jump start, and or charge battery, radios die. Power to unit is fused per installation instructions/and installer design...25 amp blade in line.

I am looking for an option...voltage surge suppressor, or a voltage regulator or conditioner that we can insert between source voltage and radios. Waiting for service supplier is frustrating.

Radio is XPR 2500 a little over three years old, out of warranty. Now down 3 units...20 more in use!

Mike
    KH7RD
    Brookings OR
    sodamcq@gmail.com

2. KU4X

KU4X Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Stop-gap measure: Turn the radio OFF prior to starting the vehicle and jumping/charging the battery.

Regards,
    -Bruce

K4AGO and WA8FOZ like this.
  3. KA2IRQ

KA2IRQ Ham Member QRZ Page

Hmmmm... very curious indeed. What is the state of the radio when this jump starting or charging is going on? Do the drivers leave them on? Do they go on automatically when the key is inserted? It would seem to me if they were powered off, they should be fine.

I get the impression from your post that this is a new thing... but I'm sure bus batteries die all the time and have been jumped and charged over the years. So what is different about now? New model of bus? New model of battery charger?