Most Efficient Antenna for QRP

Discussion in 'QRP Corner' started by W7CJD, Dec 15, 2015.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
  1. W7CJD

W7CJD Ham Member QRZ Page

Okay, here is the challenge: what is the most efficient antenna for QRP portable.

Why? How?

For me, a resonant doublet that has no common mode gets the signal out. This has meant getting the feedline length right. I optimize height for the frequency, 32-33'.

What do you say?

If you use coax, how do you determine feedline length if you use an antenna analyzer, or, do you use a balun or a 1:1 common mode balun and call it good?

Last edited: Dec 15, 2015
  2. KK4NSF

KK4NSF Ham Member QRZ Page

that is a good question... At the moment, I'm studying and experimenting with just that issue, and haven't reached any firm conclusions yet.

It is important when discussing "most efficient" to work with objective measurements of some sort, like SWR, Field Strength, Published Data, and so forth.... so we have an objective way to compare our results and avoid basing our future antenna set-ups on opinions that may or may not be substantiated in fact.

One thing I'm seeing is a strong reliance on the number of QSOs as a measure of an antenna's quality. While that may be an indicator of sorts, it also may not be. A few weeks ago I made 20+ QRP QSOs in two hours using a Hamstick duct-taped to a camera tripod. While it did make good QSOs on that day, I really doubt it was a very efficient radiator.... it was just a good radio day.

The other thing I'm curious about is the often-stated comment that Antenna Tuners cause a loss of signal strength. While it does seem to be a reasonable idea, I haven't been able to find any published data supporting it. If it DOES cause a loss.... which we as QRPers can't afford, how MUCH of a loss does it cause? A little or a lot?

Dave
    KK4NSF

3. W8ZNX

W8ZNX Ham Member QRZ Page

ahoy