Morse Dropping like Flies

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by KG4YUV, Aug 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
  1. KG4YUV

KG4YUV Ham Member QRZ Page

Well, it's the end of August and already we've seen code dropped in Germany, Netherlands, New Zealand, Austria, Norway and a few other places. But what's next? Could the code drop happen in the US?

While the idea seems unlikely at the moment, the chances are more than likely 50/50. But as of this possibility, as many hams know, you can feel much pride in saying, "Hey, I've passed my 5 WPM!" And I now that I'll feel proud when I pass mine. As of now, I'm a 14 year old Technician operator, but I know the importance of CW in the amateur world.

As how CW is sometimes the only way to communicate, but besides that fact, if code is dropped, imagine the bandwidth problems we could face on HF, 10 meters most of all. The FCC would have to increase SSB voice bandwidth, and there would be a decrease of space for code, since the bands would be VERY crowded.

The written exams are easier than they've EVER been in ham history, and dropping code would just open up the flood gates to everyone everywhere. While the only good thing I can see coming from this would mean that CB "freebanders" on 10 meters would be eaten up, they're is still no room for this.

But only time will tell what becomes of the long glory of CW in American amateur radio.

KG4YUV
    Patrick Wilson

2. EA2AIJ

EA2AIJ Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi,