Monitoring and emergency transmission on forbidden frequencies

Discussion in 'VHF/UHF - 50Mhz and Beyond' started by KM6UTP, Jun 23, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Subscribe
  1. KM6UTP

KM6UTP Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm 74 with mild heart condition. We frequently travel on jeep trails to remote lakes in the Sierras. I'm trying to insure emergency communications. We have a locator beacon, and I'm studying for the Ham tests but I would like to be able to monitor and, in emergencies, transmit to the Forest Service.

I know this is legal, but can I do this with Ham gear? The frequencies are around 168mhz. This seems to be within the range of the dual bands I'm looking at, e.g. Yaesu FT-7900R. I can't find anything about this except that it is legal. The Yaesu specs says it can receive government bands.

2. K9STH

K9STH Platinum Subscriber Volunteer Moderator Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

Monitoring (receiving) such frequencies is perfectly legal. Transmitting on such frequencies without using certificated equipment is not legal. In certain life and death situations, then exceptions are made.

You would be better off, legally, getting one of the Chinese handheld units that are certificated by the FCC for use on those frequencies (certificated for the 47 CFR Part 90 Radio Services. Not every Chinese handheld is certificated but there are some and those units are also relatively inexpensive. It is perfectly legal for a licensed amateur radio operator to program a certificated unit with frequencies within the amateur radio bands and to also transmit on those frequencies.

Glen, K9STH

K0UO likes this.
  3. N1RVN

N1RVN Ham Member QRZ Page

Most ham radios will receive outside of the ham bands, but will NOT transmit outside of ham bands. The FT-7900 is no exception. While you might be able to listen to the Forest Service, you won't be able to talk to them.