ad: vanity

MON 11 DEC - 96th Anniv. Of 1st Transatlantic Shortwave Transmission

Discussion in 'Contests, DXpeditions and Special Events' started by N1BCG, Dec 5, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
  1. N1BCG

    N1BCG Ham Member QRZ Page

    Monday, December 11, 2017 will mark the 96th anniversary of the first message to ever be sent across the Atlantic ocean using shortwave frequencies. The original event in 1921 was called "The Transatlantic Tests" and was organized to determine if amateur radio signals could be heard in Europe using short wave frequencies.

    Several stations will be participating by establishing contacts between the U.S. and Europe including:

    N1BCG (Greenwich, CT - where the first successful message was sent by 1BCG)

    GM7VSB (Ardossan, Scotland - where the receiving station was located)

    KB3WFV (Chesapeake Bay, MD)

    W2PA (Millbrook, NY)

    N1ALF (Greenwich, CT)

    Bands and frequencies have not been set to permit flexibility due to propagation but will likely begin during the day (Eastern U.S.) on 20M USB.

    Additional information can be found at:

    https://www.qrz.com/db/N1BCG

    http://www.internetwork.com/radio/n1bcg

    http://w2pa.net/HRH/crossingsi-aquitania

    https://books.google.com/books?id=1NQ1AQAAMAAJ&dq=qst february 1922&pg=PP7#v=onepage&q=qst february 1922&f=true

    [​IMG]
     
    KD0NPT likes this.
  2. N1BCG

    N1BCG Ham Member QRZ Page

    1500 UTC / 1000 EST - Operating 14.270 USB
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2017 at 3:37 PM
  3. N1BCG

    N1BCG Ham Member QRZ Page

    2130 UTC / 1630 EST- Operating 7.236 LSB
     
  4. N1BCG

    N1BCG Ham Member QRZ Page

    2230 UTC / 1730 EST - Operating 7.239 LSB
     

Share This Page

ad: hamshirts-1