ad: elecraft

Modeling coil-loaded dipoles in CocoaNEC 2.0

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KH6AN, Dec 13, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
  1. KH6AN

KH6AN Ham Member QRZ Page

Aloha All,

I am a new-minted General licensee (WH6FZA), living in a condo on Maui and hoping to operate QRP HF in the near future. Due to space constraints and restrictions, I need a compact antenna. Due to budgetary constraints, I need an inexpensive antenna. A friend suggested a Buddipole, but I'm considering the homebrew precursor instead. I'd like to model the antenna to get a ballpark idea of what to expect in terms of impedance and radiation, but I'm a Mac user running CocoaNEC 2.0 and can't figure out what figures to enter where in order to model the loading coils.

I am relatively new to all things HF (was a Technician for years, and not much of one at that), so I welcome any help in reducing my ignorance.

Mahalo,

2. N0TZU

N0TZU Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

Congratulations on your General class license!

I hope you can get CocoaNEC to work for you. I briefly tried to use it a few years ago and ran some test cases against EZNEC (Windows). Unfortunately it had some erroneous results. That plus being very bare bones caused me to give up on it, and just resign myself to doing antenna modeling in Windows under a virtual machine on the Mac.

3. W1VT

W1VT Ham Member QRZ Page

KH6AN likes this.
  4. KH6AN

Mahalo,

Can you advise me on what figures to enter where? On the Loading tab in the Element Inspector, I can choose from:
    • None
    • Series RLC (with potential entries for R, L, and C and load locations of Center segment, All segments, or a range of segments)
    • Parallel RLC (with the same entries as Series RLC)
    • Impedance (with potential entries for Real, Imaginary, and the same load locations as above)