mobile interference

Discussion in 'Mobile Radio Systems' started by VE7MBV, Feb 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
  1. VE7MBV

VE7MBV Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello all, I am new to the Amateur Radio world, and I need some help

I have installed a Kenwood TM-271A in my Jeep, I have two direct wires from the batt. one from postive and one ground.

When I am NOT TXing or RXing I get interference on almost every channel( more so on the 144-145 fq) I can hear my engie RPM through the interference in the background, but its mostly just a static sound. I also get it with engine OFF ignition on.

I am running a simple Larson antenna and about 3-4 feet of cable between antenna and radio

any ideas...will a bandpass filter fix this?

2. W8JI

W8JI Ham Member QRZ Page

It sounds like the computer might be radiating out through wiring in the Jeep, because when the engine is off and the key on the injectors, alternator, fuel pump, and spark are all off. Fuel pumps only run a few seconds without the engine running in a good design fuel system, almost everything else is off right away. Only the computer system is running.

A bandpass filter at the radio will not help, and almost always the battery connections will not help.

I would NOT, no matter what anyone says, connect the negative lead of my radio the the battery post. I would connect it to a chassis ground near the battery ground or some other large area of sheet metal, but never directly to a negative post on the battery or a battery negative lead. Nothing good can ever come from connecting to the negative post or battery ground wire.

Maybe you can sniff around with a handheld and see where the noise is radiating from and perhaps move the antenna. Make sure the antenna has a good ground, where ever it is mounted.

73 Tom

3. KA0HCP

KA0HCP XML Subscriber QRZ Page