Mobile install, 2020 Toyota Camry ?

Discussion in 'On the Road' started by N1KK, Feb 28, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: l-BCInc
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: l-gcopper
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: QSOToday-1
  1. N1KK

N1KK Ham Member QRZ Page

Would there be any websites I could get some helpful tips for installing a HF and VHF/UHF antenna plus
    radio.

I want to get some known working ideas to run D.C. power from the battery to the front as well as back
    to trunk on this new car. I have had several HF/VHF/UHF install stalls over the years but this new
    car, well its just to new right now to make a mistake.

Thanks
    Ken
    N1KK

2. N7WR

N7WR Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

K0BG's website is the bible for mobile operations

3. WS9K

WS9K Ham Member QRZ Page

Last year, I bought a 2017 Camry.

not an easy one to find..

I've been running / installing my HF mobile since 1993, but could not find a good route through the firewall on this car.

I called an old local car audio shop. He understood completely and for $65 ran the 8 gauge red/black that I supplied from the battery to the trunk. ( 8ga because this rig draws about 40amps)

I was happy with the price, and felt better when the owner who's been doing this for 25 years said he had trouble finding a route also, and used a plugged hole where the manual transmission stuff would go.

I added the fuses, near the battery, and installed my 200 watt Kenwood TS-480HX and old FT7900 in the trunk.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

4. KC7JNJ

KC7JNJ Ham Member QRZ Page