Million Questions but I will start with one - 2 meter

Discussion in 'VHF/UHF - 50Mhz and Beyond' started by KE8EYM, Jan 11, 2019 at 4:37 PM.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: l-assoc
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
  1. KE8EYM

KE8EYM Ham Member QRZ Page

I am a pretty inexperienced noob with only a handful of contacts under my belt. I have a small 2 meter HT with 5 watts that I am working with. I have built a couple antennas and on a good day I can hit the repeater that is about 22 miles away but not reliably. I would like to bump things up a bit so I can make more contacts. I have been looking at radios with different outputs. My question is with 2 meter is it worth spending the extra money for something like a 100 watt radio over a 50 watt or a 25 watt.

2. ND5Y

ND5Y Ham Member QRZ Page

Antennas, and where they are located, are way more important than power.

KC8VWM, N2SUB and N0TZU like this.
  3. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Indeed.

If this is for "mobile" work, use a very good mobile NMO mount whip on the roof of the vehicle and then 25 or 50W should work just about anything.

If this is for "home station" work, a very good outdoor antenna, elevated well above the roof and fed with low-loss coax should allow you to work almost anything even with the 5 Watts, although 25-50W can certainly help at times.

You didn't say what kind of antennas you have built or how they're installed, but even a simple 1/4-wave ground plane on a mast above the roof (maybe 20-30' above ground) should work quite well; a commercially-built 2-3 element vertical colinear omni antenna up 40 or 50' above ground will work much better. "Height makes might" on VHF.

N0TZU likes this.
  4. KE8EYM

KE8EYM Ham Member QRZ Page

Thanks for the replies!