mid-term appraisla of Firefox

Discussion in 'Computers, Hardware, and Operating Systems' started by W1GUH, Jul 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
  1. W1GUH

W1GUH Ham Member QRZ Page

I've been using firefox for about six months now, and I like it more everytime I use it.

It has never crashed, and it coexsits beautifully with windows.  It once "forgot" all my bookmarks, but only once, and there was something going on with my computer (maybe an windows update) that could have been the real cause.

Otherwise, it's been just fine.

Most likable features:

Downloads are significantly faster than Windows.  (What is windows doing that slows down downloads so much?)  Plus, you can load it up with jobs and it'll do them all automatically.  (As opposed to IE, that will only let you set up 2 jobs at a time).

Real time spell checking.

Updates are automatic and benign.

I comes up quick.

In short, IMHO, it's a great product.

Further...when I travel I'm stuck with my work computer (Ugh!), and I can't put Firefox on it. I'm getting to hate IE!

2. K3WRV

K3WRV Guest

I like it too, but the automatic update "feature" drives me nuts. Sometimes I DON'T WANT to update! And lately, after an "update" they added a "feature" that insists on telling me that I exited FF uncleanly and asks if I want restore my previous session or start a new one.

That said, it works a whole lot better and is a whole lot safer than IE. But, if you really want to see it in action, try running it under Linux! Up to about 16 download chanels open at once for each copy of FF, and you can run multiple copies! (Strikes me as excessive, but cool if you had the bandwidth. [​IMG] )

3. WA7KKP

WA7KKP Ham Member QRZ Page

Doesn't take much effort to write software that outperforms Windows.