Mesh Groundplane on roof?

Discussion in 'RV Operating and Camping' started by KC0LDH, Jan 23, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
  1. KC0LDH

KC0LDH Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

I am new to RVing so to say. I loved it as a kid, and now I am Dad, and getting family into RVing for the upcoming season. I purchases a used RV travel trailer for our first try. It was cheap enough to learn on so to say...

Being that it is used, I have the "opportunity" to do some improvements. One of the items needed is a new coating on the roof (another new item to learn), and fixing/replacing a couple of Vents and covers. So, If i have to do any roof Maintenance, Sealing, etc, My thoughts were to improve it along the way. It is a EPDM roof with an aluminum sided trailer. 32' TT

I am thinking about integrating a ground plane onto the roof before I re-seal it. The intention being that I make the roof look as close as practical to the roof of a car for a ground plane. I was thinking Aluminum Screen material laid over the roof, and fastened down, then painted/sealed up. On the other hand, I can replace the entire roof with an aluminum one for about $600(parts) and a case of beer with some friends, but this seems to be another debate all by itself.

I intend on using 20/15/10m verticals, 2m/440 during my leisure time. Being that the RV is 32' long, maybe 40m.
    Antenna is not purchased, I have an inventory of the following: TH3 elements as vertical, ATAS (not sold on its capabilities), 102" whips, various mounts, VHF/UHF etc.

I am fairly handy with a soldering Iron, Welder, and Brazing. I'm not afraid of welding heavy gauge aluminum for custom solutions. I would prefer to have resonant antennas, with a band switch but could be convinced otherwise.

Should I consider making a ground plane part of the project, IF yes, how, OR should I give up and figure out how to make a temporary, or portable setup?

2. KA0HCP