M2 Satpack 1 for Novice Sat Work

Discussion in 'Satellite and Space Communications' started by K7CFO, Sep 18, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: L-Geochron
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: l-BCInc
ad: L-MFJ
  1. K7CFO

K7CFO Ham Member QRZ Page

Howdy Sat Friends,

First a story or skip to the end (bold) for my question.

I had a friend over the other day that couldn't believe we could talk to the ISS (which I've never done before) so I yanked my IC-9700 out of my shack, downloaded MacDoppler, dug out a yagi antenna, and we made a partial/muddy contact on the ISS FM repeater. It wasn't the best but I was just happy I got through, sorta like keying up the repeater for the first time when you figure out what a PL is (har har).

After the contact, I decided to put the IC-9700 into a portable case with power supply for easy easy deployment. I really don't want to mess around with rotators or get too complicated here, just looking for something that "mostly works"

Question #1 - Can I reliably use the M2 Satpack 1 without an elevation rotator? I'm assuming I can catch birds that have a high enough elevation and just will realize shorter QSO's.

Question #2 - Any suggestions on how to make the M2 Satpack 1 a bit more portable? I'll be using an SUV for deployment (has a roof rack) and I was thinking the roof rack (if I confirm it is really all metal) would be an excellent reflector and thus wouldn't need the reflectors on the M2 Satpack (just the egg beaters).

Question #3 - How does polarity work on the egg beaters, I think they are fixed right hand out of the box? Do I need to worry about that much?

2. KA0HCP

KA0HCP XML Subscriber QRZ Page

We repeatedly get these questions about omni antennas and basic setups. I encourage you to spend some time reading previous threads in the sat-forum.