ad: vanity

Looking for suggestions on keyers.

Discussion in 'Straight Keys - CW Enthusiasts' started by W6PAN, Feb 20, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. W6PAN

W6PAN Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello all,

I'm trying to learn CW and have been practicing my TX on a J-38 knockoff and a Heathkit oscillator. I just picked up a used Kent twin paddle and now I need a keyer to practice with.

Anyone have a suggestion for an inexpensive keyer I can use stand alone with a sidetone, or in conjunction with the Heathkit oscillator?

I was thinking about building either a Hamcrafter's K16 or a PicoKeyer as I've never done a build before and thought it might be fun.

Also toying with idea of building a RockMite 40m as I do not have a rig at the moment and it has a built in keyer.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

Thanks in advance for any replies.

73 de KK6PVK

2. DK7OB

DK7OB Ham Member QRZ Page

I am using the Ultra PicoKeyer. It's a very easy to build (less than 20 parts).

3. KC3RN

KC3RN Ham Member QRZ Page

This. It's a fun and easy build, and works really well. The volume coming from the internal speaker is kind of weak, but you can plug in an external speaker with no problem.

http://www.hamgadgets.com/ULTRA-PICOKEYER

4. WA7PRC

WA7PRC Ham Member QRZ Page

Today, THE keyer to use is the K1EL WinKeyer USB (http://k1el.tripod.com/). It interfaces with your computer via a USB connection, and communicates with your favorite logging program that sends Morse (Ham Radio Deluxe, N1MM, et cetera). Aside from other features, when you change the speed on one, the other follows. There will never again be a situation where the PC-generated Morse and a keyer-generated Morse are at different speeds.

On its own, the WinKeyer USB is a fine keyer, with several memories, and full control over the parameters. Very good support from K1EL and others is via a Yahoo! group.

vy 73
    Bryan WA7PRC

5. AA4OO

AA4OO Ham Member QRZ Page