Lets hope....

Discussion in 'Mobile Radio' started by K0BG, Aug 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
  1. K0BG

K0BG Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

Let's hope this thread becomes a very popular place for all of us who really enjoy mobile (and portable) operation.

I have been operating mobile since 1972, and I have enjoyed it beyond belief. I have gone through more installation iterations, antennas, wiring, transceivers, you name it, than no one could have ever imagined. While I have learned a lot, the one theme which keeps coming to the forefront, is installing your gear, especially antennas, correctly! While just about anything works, died-in-the-wool operators will soon discover that haphazard installations, abbreviated antennas, clip mounts, poor wiring, no bonding, no RFI suppression, and about a dozen other prerequisites, just won't cut the mustard. Bragging about DX exploits, notwithstanding!

2. KL7AJ

KL7AJ Ham Member QRZ Page

I think with the increasing antenna restrictions for many hams, having an effective mobile station is a great alternative. And even if you do have unrestricted home capabilities (like me) you can still have a blast with H.F. mobile. (The state of Alaska STILL gives us free vehicle registration if we have ham plates).

By the way, more than one ham has earned DXCC entirely mobile! (Alas, I'm not one of them).

Eric

3. KL7AJ

KL7AJ Ham Member QRZ Page

I want to reiterate and enforce what you've said. The best mobile installation is a "radio with a car built around it." Unfortunately, this used to be a lot easier to accomplish with old technology cars....but with enough determination it can be done, and well worth it.