ad: Schulman-1

Legal: what procedure do I need to follow to relocate my station to the States?

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by BH4FHO, Jan 18, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: QSOToday-1
ad: Left-3
  1. BH4FHO

BH4FHO Ham Member QRZ Page

Since I am scheduled to attend graduate school this fall in the States, I want to know what kind of procedure should I follow to relocate by station from China to US (and back after I graduated?) I have several radios that I want to bring along with me:
    • Baofeng UV-5R 1st generation,
    • Baofeng DM-1801, with modded firmware (OpenGD77,)
    • Kenwood TM-471A, native ham band equipment, repaired,
    • Kenwood TM-271A, native ham band equipment, repaired,
    • Kenwood TK-8100-1, two of them, repaired and ham modded.
    (I have been buying used professional radios, fixing them and modding them for ham use.)

KA0HCP likes this.
  2. K7JEM

K7JEM Ham Member QRZ Page

You should be able to bring the radios in without problem, you will need to obtain an FCC amateur license before using them here.

3. BH4FHO

BH4FHO Ham Member QRZ Page

So I can just pack them along with my personal belongings and bring them in? Do I need to, for example, have them all listed on my Chinese station license? (The Kenwoods are recent acquisitions and repairs so they are yet to be officially listed. The Baofengs are already listed.) Is there a quantity limit or can I bring in all six of them?

4. KS2G

KS2G Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

There is no requirement in the FCC amateur radio regulations for license holders to maintain any kind of list of their equipment.

Likewise, to the best of my knowledge there are no U.S. Customs regulations or tariffs involved in bringing electronic equipment into the United States for personal use.