Learning CW, it just doesnt stick!

Discussion in 'Straight Keys - CW Enthusiasts' started by SA7CNG, May 21, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
  1. SA7CNG

SA7CNG Ham Member QRZ Page

I have tried learning CW several times during the last years. I spent hours on slow night shifts listening to CW trying to learn. I tried all sorts of different tools, this time i am using the G4FON program and the Koch method.

Some how, i cant manage to learn more than two or three letters. As soon as more letters are blended into the code im completely lost. I am also a slow writer, i cant really write 15 speed with a pen and paper, so i tried copying in my mind also, but it doesnt work.

Since i really would like to be able to use CW, this leavs me really frustrated. Since i am completely tone death, and had a very hard time learning languages in school(basicly failed all language courses, while managing the others with average results), i was sort of expecting learning CW to be difficult. But not impossible, like it feels now.

How long time is it reasonble to expect it would take a person to be able to copy the first 4 letters in Koch method, in 15 speed? I have nothing to compare with, but i have spent several hours, and have made basicly no progress what so ever.

KK6BNF likes this.
  2. K9CPO

K9CPO Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

KD8EDC, K8BZ, WB5YUZ and 2 others like this.
  3. KM4DYX

KM4DYX Ham Member QRZ Page

I feel for you. Learning Morse was a slog for me, too, and I'm not truly proficient at it, still.

The pure Koch method can be a bit overwhelming. What I settled on was the Koch method with Farnsworth timing, i.e., increased spacing between characters. So keep the character speed at 15 wpm but slow down the timing between characters to give yourself enough time to recognize and copy down what you heard.