KX3 - FLDIGI/BPSK125- MacBookPro - unable to receive

Discussion in 'OS: Mac OS' started by KM4QVM, Aug 30, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: l-gcopper
ad: L-rfparts
ad: Subscribe
  1. KM4QVM

KM4QVM Ham Member QRZ Page

Good morning fellow Mac-Hams.

I am brand new to Digital Modes - setting it up to support local ARES communications.

I have USB connection between KX3 and Mac as well as Audio Cables.
    KX3 is set to USB - DATA - DATA A

I am able to transmit without problems : received excellent report from a Ham one county away.

Nothing on receive! (I was able to copy some PSK31 for a time - no longer)

I am pursuing 2 avenues: 1. Audio signal level ( Phones output from KX3 to Mic Input on MacBookPro) : I have tried a 10dB, 600 Ohm Pie Attenuator - nothing. Next step is to adjust down to 6dB and try again. 2. Looking at calibrating the sound card using WWV - last night the WWVs were too weak to successfully complete this exercise.

Appreciate any guidance.

Thanks and 73s,

David / KM4QVM Macon, Ga

2. KM4QVM

Reading around this site: I am going to explore : 1. removing the audio cables between the KX3 and the Mac and 2. going to look to use the USB AUDIO CODECs instead by:

Using the Audio Midi Setup Utility (found under Applications/Other,
    not under the usual System Preferences):
    •click 'Window/Show Audio Devices'
    •You should see four selections in the left-side panel...◦Built-in Microphone
    ◦Built-in Output
    ◦USB Audio CODEC
    ◦USB Audio CODEC

3. K7GQ

K7GQ Subscriber QRZ Page

Would you enumerate these problems please?

4. KM4QVM

( love the sailboat! ) I do not have any problem TRANSMITTING.... my problem is receiving - I do not see any signals on the Waterfall - or in the Signal Window....

5. KM4QVM