Kind of a newbie needing advice

Discussion in 'Satellite and Space Communications' started by N2SUB, Jan 14, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
  1. N2SUB

N2SUB Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

I started back in the 90's before the FM sats were launched. I never had much luck working the birds with my modest setup in the days before rig control and auto doppler compensation. Over the years I've thought about trying the FM sats, but for one reason or another, I've always hit a brick wall finding information. Usually, the "For The Beginners" section is out of date. Over the weekend I bought the "Getting started with amateur satellites" from Amsat, and that pointed me in the right direction....finally. Last night I briefly heard a pass of AO-91 with my vertical. I digress....

Having tried this in the past, I'm familiar with the lingo and general concepts, so I'm not a complete newbie. I do have a few operational questions however....

• I'm planning on starting with hitting the FM satellites with a pair of HTs. I see the Elk and the Arrow as possible antenna solutions. I'm not really interested in building my own. Which do you use and why?
    • I'm currently using Ham Radio Deluxe for tracking and the Amsat website as a backup/double check. Is that a good way to go, or is there a better alternative.
    • Should I decide to graduate to legacy SSB/CW birds, I have an FT-818 and an old FT-290R. Do you see any equipment pitfalls here?
    • Everything I read talks about recording the pass on a DVR and to wear a headset. If you are using a headset, how do you record the receive side? What do you use for a DVR, your phone or a separate device?
    • I'm kind of clumsy, and tracking the satellite with one hand and holding a mic or HT(s) with the other while trying to log a QSO seems a lot like juggling. Any helpful suggestions.