ad: UR5CDX-1

Kenwood TS-830S Deafened Receive Repair!

Discussion in 'Radio Circuits, Repair & Performance' started by N9PCT, Mar 20, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
  1. N9PCT

N9PCT Ham Member QRZ Page

I just completed the repair of my TS-830S after an unfortunate incident a few years ago. I'm simply looking to document my procedure here and have no specific question, but would welcome advice from those that know these radios better!

I am a graduate student at Purdue University and a member of the club, W9YB, and approximately four years ago we installed a 160m dipole. Long story short we found out that this antenna couples with our 40m dipole. We discovered this when another member was running 1.3kW of 160m and I was tuning around 40m on my TS-830S. The input transformer was blown almost immediately upon his key-up and my radio has been deafened ever since.

At the time K4EAA had a large list of radios to get to and I could not find a replacement transformer (L41) so the radio sat until recently when I decided to look again and stumbled upon KD7DNY (kd7dny.com) who makes reproduction hybrid parts. I ordered a new L41 straightaway and this is the result.

Here W3AXL and I find the reception baseline before repair. The 1kHz tone is lost at -90dbm at 28.8Mhz

I first disassembled the radio and found L41 on the RF board in the main top compartment. L41 has a yellow/orange top.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    I removed the RF board per instructions on K4EAA's website. It seems the RF board has had some modifications done to it over the years... not sure what any of them do, but I put everything back exactly as I found it. Nothing else except L41 was broken, so I'm not looking to "fix" anything else. I'd appreciate any insight on what these mods may be though.

I flipped the RF board over and using liberal flux and solder wick, desoldered the original L41.

[​IMG]