ad: TinyPaddle-1

K4RRF SK

Discussion in 'Silent Keys / Friends Remembered' started by N4RJW, May 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Radclub22-2
  1. N4RJW

N4RJW Ham Member QRZ Page

With the very deepest of regrets I would like to inform the amateur radio community that my dear friend Ray Forrester, K4RRF has become a Silent Key.

A Navy man and proud to be, Ray Forrester was a patriot to his core. His was the kind of patriotism that has made America proud and strong. Although America’s patriotic spirit has waned these past few years, Ray’s never did. Even on his web site Ray was proud to show others that he was proud of his service to our country.

Ray was, without a doubt, one of the finest DX’ers I have had the honor to have known in the 34 years that I have been an amateur radio operator. With over 300 countries to his credit Ray was the ‘go to’ man in Orlando when you wanted to know where the DX could be found.

Along with his vast knowledge of amateur radio Ray was also an expert fisherman, winning many local and national fishing tournaments. Once a well-known authority in providing fishing excursions for people inside and outside of Florida, people came to Ray because he knew where the next big catch was hiding. Ray was also a long time member of the National Rifle Association and a strong proponent of our Second Amendment Rights. Always eager and quick to teach others anything concerning the safe and proper methods of handling firearms, Ray was rarely seen without his Glock.

“Kilo Four Romeo Romeo Fox” was heard many, many times in the pursuit of the many lighthouse activations put on by the Amateur Radio Lighthouse Society of which Ray was a Life Member. How sad it will be not to hear the excitement in his voice as it would come over 146.415 simplex announcing the activation of another lighthouse that he had just worked.