Just got back into ham radio

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by KA6AIM, Feb 11, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: L-Geochron
  1. KA6AIM

KA6AIM XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Hello, I am studying for the Technician exam and the sample tests on this site are very helpful.

I am a former Novice then Technician license holder from about 35 years ago and hope to get my old callsign back, KA6AIM.

I almost Worked All States on CW back then at 5 WPM lol. The 13 WPM requirement at the time kept me from advancing to general class. Other interests took hold and I let my license expire.

I probably jumped into equipment purchases a little prematurely. I bought a TS-820s that is supposed to work on RX but needs some work on TX. I also just picked up a TS-120 at an estate sale that I have not been able to test because I need to order a power cord for it. I plan to put up a dipole or vertical antenna and do some listening before I get licensed.

The advances in technology from when I was licensed before are a little more than overwhelming but I guess that is the fun part of this hobby, learning new things and seeing where you fit in.

Ken W

2. WD4CHP

WD4CHP Ham Member QRZ Page

You might get a copy of Ham Radio for Dummies. It helped my wife whose radio knowledge was the on/off volumn and tuning knob. It is easy to catch up.

3. KD2RDG

KD2RDG Ham Member QRZ Page

Welcome back! I recommend taking the tech and general exams at the same time. You can do it!

Read through the study books because they're interesting and useful.

Use https://hamexam.org/ because it will make taking the test easy and less stressful.

You can listen with a piece of wire if you're not ready to put up the dipole or vertical yet.

4. AJ4GQ

AJ4GQ XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Not necessary. Just go take the test and welcome back.

5. KP4SX

KP4SX Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Welcome back!