ad: elecraft

Jetstream RG 8/U JT2015F coax does not fit PL-259 problem

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by WB6IZG, Feb 23, 2018.

Tags:
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. WB6IZG

WB6IZG Ham Member QRZ Page

I have an interesting problem and would like ideas from the ham community. I recently bought some Jetstream JT2015F RG 8/U 671704 Low Loss Foam coax. The center conductor is stranded. To my surprise the center conductor will not fit onto a PL-259. I am using am Amphenol 083-1SP-15RFX connector. I have tried tinning the center conductor but this makes the problem worse since solder goes between wires and causes it to bulge a little making problem worse. My only recourse will be to clip about 4-5 strands from the center bundle. I have used the Amphenol connectors on Belden 9913 before with no problems. I have been a ham for 35 years so have experience with coax and connectors but have never seen this. Any ideas would be helpful. Are there connectors with a little bit bigger center conductor opening?

Thanks,
    Bruce, WB6IZG

2. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

To answer the last question first: No, there aren't.

The trick to using that cable with a PL-259 is to NEVER tin the strands (makes it worse, as you noted), but expose (strip the dielectric off) the center conductor much, much longer than it needs to be -- even a few inches is great -- and softly twist them together while pulling on them, to stretch them out. Never "tightly twist," that makes the bundle larger.