ad: elecraft

It Really works!

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by KE0VH, May 16, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Radclub22-2
  1. KE0VH

KE0VH Ham Member QRZ Page

We all have antenna "issues" of some sort.  Be it small lots, apartment dwelling, non-ham spouses who do not think that a 50 foot tower and triband beam are not things of beauty.  And, by nature, most of us hams love to experiment. And, I am also a broadcast radio engineer, so antennas for me are something of great interest as I have had the opportunity to play with directional AM arrays and 50 kW transmitters.  But, with all that said, while having room for antenna's, my family is not very receptive to towers or RFI or wires all over the yard.  Dipoles hidden in a tree are adequate, but performance at 12 to 15 feet above ground could be much better, and a 40-meter wraparound dipole through the trees and terminating in a twist in the garage leave a lot to be desired.  A 10-meter vertical dipole works well, but of course when 10 is open you can work the world on a wet noodle.  However, there is no directivity to it, and sometimes the bigger stations (even those with monoband 3 element yagi's) make my signal sound like I am using a wet noodle.  And, ever problematic is RFI in the TV's, VCR's and the next-door neighbors house only 20 feet away from the dipoles. So, how do you solve all those problems with minimal time and still have effective and even more than effective antennas?  Pretty insurmountable or so it would seem.