ad: Flexradio-1

Issue #5 - An Expensive 7-Band Dipole?

Discussion in 'Trials and Errors - Ham Life with an Amateur' started by W7DGJ, Dec 19, 2022.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
  1. W7DGJ

W7DGJ Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

Please use this form for discussion of topics related to Issue 5 *link here". You can also toss in general feedback about the column or suggestions of new content down the road!

Last edited: Dec 22, 2022
    K2HAT likes this.
  2. K2XT

K2XT Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

SWR is 1.8 at band edges on 80 meters? Do you have an explanation as to how that is accomplished because it is a halfwave dipole and that is not normal?

AA7IS likes this.
  3. W7DGJ

Hi Rick, I write about user experiences. That's what occurred for me with the Buckmaster, and if you read the eHam reviews (many 4 and 5 stars) I am not unusual. I'm not an antenna designer, so I have no idea how they pulled that off. But I was able to quite easily add 15M with the tuners discussed in Issue 4, and this gives me 8 band coverage from one dipole antenna! Still, I have no idea (other than dealer markup) how it ended up costing this much. That's where it gets knocked down a notch or two. Dave

PY2NEA likes this.
  4. W7DGJ

Rick, here are some measurements which are fairly current, from another of the MANY 5 star reviews on eHam for this antenna. I post it here only because I got a worse SWR scenario than this poster, but it is still darn good:

3.750 = 1.28
    7.020 = 1.58
    14.328 = 1.24
    18.118 = 1.24
    24.940 = 1.55
    28.944 = 1.12
    50.868 = 1.13

5. K5CO

K5CO Ham Member QRZ Page

"more omnidirectional" than a dipole does not right true.

6. W7DGJ

Thanks Robert. Glad you caught that. I'm sure you recognized by the discussion that followed that it was supposed to be "The antenna is clearly more directional than the usual dipole", and it is now fixed. THANK YOU OM. Dave

7. K9UR