ad: wmr-1

IS THIS LEGAL?

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by N1YS, Jun 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. N1YS

N1YS Ham Member QRZ Page

This is my first time on the forums so I hope this is the right for this question, I'm going to school here in Pa. and they don't allow 2m/70cm handhelds even only to listen to my question is, is this legal? It is considered a post secondary school any info and where to find regulation stating the contrary would be helpful. We can bring them but we have to turn them in when come in and can pick them up when we go off the property. Reason "WE DON'T WANT ANYONE LISTENING TO OUR FREQUENCIES!"
    73's N1YS

2. VO1GXG

VO1GXG Ham Member QRZ Page

I know here in Canada if they own the property they make the rules of what you can and cannot have. My school would take cellphones but i could carry my ht in my bookbag.

dont want people listening to their Frequncies? you can do that anyway!

3. AG3Y

AG3Y Guest

Questions, questions, QUESTIONS ? ? ? ! ! !

Who is telling you to turn in your radio? What frequencies are they trying to prevent you from listening to ?

I have heard of some jurisdictions preventing people from having scanners capable of picking up police band frequencies in their cars. But this sure doesn't sound like that kind of situation.

I can't imagine that anyone can prevent a licensed amateur radio operator from picking up transmissions within the amateur radio service bands. If they are operating within those bands for purposes other than amateur radio , then it is THEY ( whoever THEY might be ! ) who are in the wrong !

JMHO

4. N0WUE

N0WUE Ham Member QRZ Page

by law they can't restrict you, but academically they can punish you

5. KE5MC

KE5MC Premium Subscriber QRZ Page