Is SatPC32 the only Satellite Software ?

Discussion in 'Satellite and Space Communications' started by K2WH, Sep 29, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: L-Geochron
ad: abrind-2
ad: l-BCInc
  1. K2WH

K2WH Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

I have been using Satpc32 for some time now ~ 20 years.

But I was wondering is there a more "Polished" program that does the same thing ?

K2WH

2. K3RLD

K3RLD Ham Member QRZ Page

I think it IS the "polished" software. If you want to try something LESS polished, you can try GPredict (which has been ported to windows but apparently does not run very well).

I think you could also try "Ham Radio Deluxe", but I've heard conflicting reviews.

WD9EWK likes this.
  3. KG4AKV

KG4AKV XML Subscriber QRZ Page

It depends on what you want to do. Orbitron is great for simulating passes and going back and forth through time. I've never used it for radio/antenna control but I believe it can do that.

If you have a Mac, MacDoppler is way more polished than SatPC32.

4. VE3CGA

VE3CGA XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Some time ago I managed to have gpredict running on win7pro and running the doppler on my 9100
    this is the cmd file I run:
    start C:\Ham\gpredict-win32-2.3.37\gpredict.exe
    start C:\Ham\gpredict-win32-2.3.37\hamlib\bin\rigctld.exe -v -r \\.\com6 -m 3068 -s 19200 -t 4532 -C "serial_speed=19200,stop_bits=2,rts_state=ON,dtr_state=OFF,serial_handshake=None"

I did struggle with it to setup with rigctrl, but evenutally got it
    it seems to do doppler ok and you can fine tune tx & rx separately
    I've tried gpredict this morning and it was controlling the doppler with the 9100 on the passes of fo29 & xw-2a

rotor control is not so good, I think its mainly because I am using k3ng and sat32pc interfaces well with it thru a usb com port
    gpredict wants to use a ip address and a port. One of the reasons I want to convert the arduino program over to a esp32 so it can be assigned an ip address.