ad: M2Ant-1

Is 7O6T operation legitimate?

Discussion in 'Contests, DXpeditions, QSO Parties, Special Events' started by 4X1UN, May 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. 4X1UN

4X1UN Ham Member QRZ Page

As these lines are being written HF Radio Amateurs worldwide are going berserk trying to work the 7O6T operation from an Island off the shores of Yemen.

Apparently, the 7O6T team has received strict orders not to work 4X/4Z stations from Israel.

Now, when I studied for my amateur radio license I learnt you mustn't mix politics and ham radio.
    I was under the impression that in this hobby we are leaving politics aside and striving for a world of harmony and peace amongst us Amateurs.
    When I operated special event stations as well as DX-peditions in the past, I never, but never, ignored anyone calling me.
    Not knowingly, I attempted to call the 7O6T stations only for them to snub me time and time again or pretend they copied a station from Luxemburg LX1UN thinking they are doing me a favor so I can get a QSL card later on.

Let me tell you this, my country has its share of problems, but Israeli Radio Amateurs have been respectable members of IARU and the global amateur community since the establishment of our state back in 1948. We have assisted countries in need during earthquakes and other natural disasters (including Muslim countries) and have never discriminated anyone - At least not in the past 20 years or so.

Hence, I think the ARRL should take a stand once and for all on these issues and approve DX operations which enable the entire global amateur community to contact them. Otherwise, all this DX chasing is nothing but Politics - and I for one, don't want to be a politician.

2. W5LMM

W5LMM Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

Who gave them these orders? This is shameful!

3. K2NCC

K2NCC Ham Member QRZ Page