introduction and a noob question

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by KN4YJE, Mar 25, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: l-BCInc
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KN4YJE

KN4YJE Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi, I m Rob, KN4YJE out of Lugoff SC.
    Got my Tech Ticket October '19. Been on the air since Feb '20. I'm a total Noob.
    Running a Baofang 8W handy talky with a 2m/7cm 16" antenna on the roof of the truck.

Now for the question,
    I have noticed that when I am monitoring a repeater, I sometimes only pick up half the conversation.
    I fully expect this running Simplex, but apparently my understanding of how a repeater works is flawed.
    Its my understanding that if a signal goes into a repeater its broadcast such that if I'm close enough to pick up one half of the conversation I should be able to pick up the entire conversation, not just the signal of the radio closest to me (major assumption there). I have also noticed it only occurs on one particular repeater based in downtown Columbia.
    So what did I get wrong in Repeater 101?

2. W1TRY

W1TRY XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Look at your settings and see if you have it set to Tone Squelch or a similar setting for this particular repeater.
    If your radio does not receive the INPUT tone, it will block the audio.
    Set to ENC (encode) only, not ENC DEC (encode/decode.)
    I may not be stating the facts clearly, I'm going on memory from entering a new repeater manually a couple of days ago in my vehicle rig.
    Basically: send a tone only to open the repeater, no tone (CTCSS/DCS) needed to open YOUR receiver.
    Good luck.
    Tryon W1TRY

Last edited: Mar 25, 2020
    WG7X likes this.
  3. WE4E

WE4E Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

For 2m repeaters, the "standard" offset is 600khz, so the input to the repeater is 600khz above or below the output frequency. If you're listening to the input, then you may experience hearing part of the conversation.