Interference with Weather Station?

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by K1ACX, Jan 15, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
  1. K1ACX

K1ACX Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Hey guys, I am new to this hobby and very glad to be here. There is lots of great information here.

my question relates to my tempest WeatherStation and my transmitting antenna on the roof of my house. The tempest WeatherStation is a new Wi-Fi station that sends a signal wirelessly to a hub inside your house via Bluetooth. Right now, I am using a diamond dual band antenna mounted on the roof, close to the WeatherStation.

Twice in the last month after transmitting for a decent amount of time using just 5 W, the weather station has stopped reporting data to the hub inside the house. I have to go on the roof and bring the WeatherStation in and reconnect it to the hub in the house, and then it starts working again fine. This never happened before putting the antenna on the roof. I’m thinking I will have to relocate either the antenna or the WeatherStation, but I didn’t know what your thoughts were on what kind of interference could be caused by transmitting close to the weather station. Thanks in advance!

2. W4HWD

W4HWD Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

Separate the antennas more.

N0TZU likes this.
  3. N7WR

N7WR Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Yes--RF from your transmitter is likely getting into the weather station remote sending unit. As HWD said, separate the antennas. My WX remote sending unit is 50 feet away from the closest antenna and even 700 watts of output from my transmitter does not bother it

N0TZU likes this.
  4. K1ACX

K1ACX Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Thank you. This makes sense. I was hoping to be able to use the same rooftop mast for the antenna and the weather station. Maybe that's not in the cards....

5. KC3PBI

KC3PBI XML Subscriber QRZ Page