ad: Mircules-1

If you were going to buy a laptop today...

Discussion in 'Computers, Hardware, and Operating Systems' started by W3CKL, Aug 15, 2016.

Tags:
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: L-Geochron
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
  1. W3CKL

W3CKL Ham Member QRZ Page

So I'm a Mac guy and have been for 25 years. I own a marketing agency and have a background in professional photography and visual design. Mac dominates my industry. That said, my degree is actually in computer science and in a previous life I was a Windows sys admin and network engineer.

I have an SDR Play and an Icom 7300. I'm intrigued by the digital modes and all of the eye candy of running my rigs on the "big screen". As the result of moving in with a woman and combining two households, I have a surplus of large HDTV's which would look pretty cool on the wall of my office, filled band scopes.

I've been looking at laptops at Office Max and Sam's Club and am continuously amazed by the low prices. Ham radio is a Windows' world and I'm thinking about getting something that can run all the cool software that we in the Mac world don't have access to.

Only two real requirements are that it has a processor that can handle the widest bandwidth of SDR Uno and that it has an HDMI-out port.

Have any of you purchased a relatively inexpensive Windows laptop from one of the big box stores lately and lately and care to make any recommendations?

Thanks in advance,

Bill

2. K8ERV

K8ERV QRZ Member QRZ Page

I don't think you can buy a new puter today w/o Win 10 on it.
    I buy used ones with Win 7.

Ur choice.

TOM K8ERV Montrose Colo

K6CLS likes this.
  3. W1GVT

W1GVT Ham Member QRZ Page

Last edited: Aug 15, 2016
    K6CLS likes this.
  4. WF7A

WF7A Subscriber QRZ Page

I'm a Mac guy, too, but am contemplating buying a PC laptop for the same reasons--some software is better on a PC than on a Mac. (MS-Word, for example.)