ad: HamInsurance-1

Icom Radios - USA vs Japan versions

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by PU2KEH, Sep 14, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: L-Geochron
  1. PU2KEH

PU2KEH XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Hi Everyone,

I tried to search something estricted related to the topic I'm about to find, but the search doesn't returned any post with the complete answers I need to go on this idea. Sorry if I missed something already posted, and if this is the case, I ask to moderators to close the thread.

I'm a ham radio operator from Brazil, and due to many government and taxes reasons, it's really expensive to get an equipment here. I'm a licensed ham operator, Class C.

My brother Lived almost 15 years in Japan due to work reasons, and he is coming back to Brazil, once for all. He asked me what I want as a good present from there, and I decided to take a little advantage from this, lol, and ask him to bring a transceiver that for our reality, is completely hard to get in normal ways. I decided to take an Icom 7610. He is coming back on December, so my doubts are:

- In my previous searches through QRZ forums, I saw many people saying about Japan Versions and "Export Versions" of all transceivers. Japan band plan is completely different from our Brazil band plans, which makes me wonder if I bring a transceiver from there, I will experience a lot of problems in terms of TX range and things like this?

- Is it possible to buy the same version that is on sale in the USA on Japan market? What are the big differences regarding TX/RX range, Power, etc?

- I told him the best place to buy this equipment there would be Akihabara, in Tokyo, which is abou 150 miles distance from his home, and seens that there they give the customer the possibility to buy any version, Is it true?

Any recomendations or tips on this idea would be helpfull too.