ICOM IC-718... Decent first HF rig for a noob?

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by KI7HSB, Jun 11, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: QSOToday-1
ad: Subscribe
  1. KI7HSB

KI7HSB Ham Member QRZ Page

The rig I really wanted is better part of $2,000... But I have a champagne taste and a beer pocket book...

A friend of mine recently won a spankin' new, still in the box IC-718 in a raffle and sold I to me for significantly less than retail. It's not the wiz-bang rig I wanted, At least it will get me on the air instead of on the sidelines wishing. Probably good to start with a cheaper rig anyway, right?

2. KD2ACO

KD2ACO Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber Life Member QRZ Page

Excellent radio. What modes do you use and how much antenna can you put up?

3. KI7HSB

KI7HSB Ham Member QRZ Page

As a noob, I have no modes that I currently use. I can tell you that my interest in in DX.

The antenna will have to grow with my skills. I currently live in town and the city has jurisdiction over any tower that I install. They have been very positive and encouraging, but they are insisting on certain safety features that run the cost up to around $2,000 just for the tower alone. I'm thinking of just building whatever I want to save money and take the chance that no one will call the city and complain...

Realistically, a 35 -50 foot tower and whatever decent Yagi I can build or Hex Beam I can acquire would be nice, but I may have to experiment with single element dipoles first...

4. KN4CQB

KN4CQB XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I am using one as my first radio and it does a great job without being overwhelming to operate.

5. KC3RN

KC3RN Ham Member QRZ Page

The 718 is a decent rig. Fairly capable and very easy to operate. I had one for about a year until I sold it to upgrade.