Icom IC-7100 as a mobile solution

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by N6YW, May 1, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
  1. N6YW

N6YW Ham Member Volunteer Moderator QRZ Page

Greetings
    Although I am primarily an AM operator, I am considering installing an HF rig in my truck
    and am interested in having all mode capability at my fingertips.
    After reading about the Icom IC-7100 , it appears that it has a lot features that would be useful.
    I would like to hear from owners of this radio who have used it for mobile operations.
    I am also interested in how well it performs on AM.
    The ergonomics of the control head seem to make it very easy to install and use in the mobile
    environment.
    What are your thoughts?
    Thanks in advance.
    Billy N6YW

2. KC3RN

KC3RN Ham Member QRZ Page

Billy, I just sold my 7100, which was used in fixed-station operation, so I can't help you with the mobile aspect of the radio. However, I did run it a bit on AM, and always got good audio reports (using the stock mic). It's also an awesome CW rig, and performs well on VHF/UHF. However, I could never get it to perform well on HF SSB. My old TS-50 was a much better performer there. I would call and call a station on the 7100 with no reply. I'd switch over to the Kenwood and would get an answer right away. As always, YMMV. But like I said, I was very happy with its performance on AM.

One caveat - the 7100 does not play AM on 2m or 70cm. It receives just fine, but no transmit in that mode on those bands.

N6YW likes this.
  3. N6YW

N6YW Ham Member Volunteer Moderator QRZ Page

Kevin
    Thank you.